Tuesday, June 8, 2021 and Saturday, June 12, 2021
Times: The Village is open 9:30 am to 5:00 pm
Cost: Included with standard daytime admission or Village membership. Please make sure to reserve/purchase tickets before arriving! Standard daytime admission is $28 for adults, $26 for seniors (55+), $14 for youth (4-17), $14 for college students (with a valid college ID), and free for children 3 and under.
June 8, 2021 marks Old Sturbridge Village’s 75th anniversary and will kick off a yearlong celebration of the Village’s decades of historic preservation, interpretation, and education. Programming on Tuesday, June 8th and Saturday, June 12th will focus on the exhibits that were open on the original opening day of June 8, 1946, such as the Printing Office, Richardson House, Fitch House, Gristmill, and the Blacksmith Shop. There will also be two focused tours, one around the Common and one around the Countryside. The tours will provide a deeper look at how the Village came to be and how it has evolved over the past 75 years. There may even be a sweet surprise for guests in the Visitor Center!
On Saturday, June 12th only, we will also have live music from Jeff Warner, one of the nation’s foremost performers of traditional music.
A Curator’s Closer Look
In the Visitor Center, Old Sturbridge Village curators will showcase a collection of items from the Village’s institutional archives ranging from opening day in 1946 to the present. Objects include a photo album gifted to George Watson, the man responsible for moving and reconstructing many of the buildings at the Village, with photos of all the buildings that were in the Village in 1954, as well as a newspaper spread advertising Old Sturbridge Village during World War II. There will also be map guides, publications and memorabilia from different periods of the Village’s history, as well as “The Village” board game, once sold in the gift shop.
Launch of Commemorative Items
As a part of our 75th Anniversary year, special re-creations from our collections made by our own craftspeople will be for sale. Unique items such as sgraffito plates with a Village scene, mini punched tin lanterns, and wood-fired jugs will be available for purchase in limited quantities through the Miner Grant Store.
In 1926, A.B. Wells began collecting “primitive” antiques that represented daily life a century before. He became enraptured with collecting these tools, everyday furnishings, and gadgets and his collection grew rapidly. A decade later, in 1936, A.B. Wells’ son, George, convinced his father to move beyond his hobby of collecting and his dream of a gallery of “primitives,” but, rather, have “a live village, one with different shops operating.” Ten years later, on June 8, 1946, Old Sturbridge Village opened to the public with 81 visitors. Read more about Village history here.
This summer, the Village will still look a little different than it did prior to the pandemic. Many of our costumed interpreters will be speaking with visitors and demonstrating their skills and trades outdoors. We are reopening buildings in phases. Please respect posted capacity limits and requests from staff to wait your turn to enter crowded spaces.
As a site that welcomes visitors of all ages—including many children—and encourages conversation with our costumed interpreters, we ask vaccinated and unvaccinated visitors to wear masks or face coverings when they are indoors, within six feet of someone from a different household, or when speaking with our staff. Our staff continue to wear masks.
See all our current policies here.
Stay tuned for more information about special 75th-anniversary programming in the Village, including a new exhibition and the opening of the Cabinetmaking Shop on the Common in the fall!