Ken Burns Lifetime Achievement Award: John Williams

Thursday, August 15, 2013 - 6:00pm

$150 per person.

To order tickets, call 508-347-0210

If you cannot attend, but would like to make a donation, click here.

All events take place at Old Sturbridge Village

6:00 p.m.: Dinner at the Oliver Wight Tavern.

8:00 p.m.: Remarks and award presentation in the Stephen M. Brewer Theater.

Seating is limited.

Read more about the award and past recipients.

The Old Sturbridge Inn and Reeder Family Lodges are now open. A block of rooms has been reserved for attendees at a discounted rate. Lodging includes a continental breakfast and museum admission for the length of your stay. Reservations are accepted by calling 508-347-5056.

Ken Burns and Old Sturbridge Village are honored to recognize distinguished and award winning composer John Williams with the 6th Annual Ken Burns Lifetime Achievement Award, which honors individuals who have made a significant contribution to the preservation of history through the arts.

John Williams has served as music director and laureate conductor of one of the country’s treasured musical institutions, the Boston Pops Orchestra, and has composed the music and served as music director for more than 100 films. He is the recipient of scores of prestigious awards, including the National Medal of Arts, which is the highest award given to artists by the U.S. government.  He has also received the Kennedy Center Honor, five Academy Awards, 21 Grammy Awards, four Golden Globes, five Emmys, and numerous gold and platinum records. With 48 Oscar nominations, Williams is the Academy's most nominated living person and the second-most nominated person in the history of the Oscars.

Ken Burns, perhaps the best-known documentary filmmaker in America, is renowned for his award-winning films like The Civil War, Jazz, Baseball, The National Parks: America’s Best Idea, and Prohibition. He made his first film, Working in Rural New England, at Old Sturbridge Village in 1975 as a film major at Hampshire College. OSV honored Burns in 2008 for his achievements and commitment to history. He returned to present the 2009 Lifetime Achievement Award to actress Laura Linney, the 2010 award to author Doris Kearns Goodwin, the 2011 award to actor Sam Waterston, the 2012 award to journalist and author Tom Brokaw, and is pleased to honor John Williams with this year’s award.

Generously sponsored by Fallon Community Health Plan

Fallon Community Health Plan logo